Provisional Line-Up for the 2000 Season

Friday August 27th, 1999

With no less than five teams announcing their line-up for next year, the provisional grid for the 2000 season is beginning to unfold. Not to many surprises; three teams have no drivers change (McLaren, Williams and BAR). At least four more teams retain one of their drivers (Ferrari, Jordan, Sauber, Arrows, and perhaps Stewart - who is likely to keep Johnny Herbert due to contractual agreement). Only Prost is currently known to have a totally new line-up, and also has the one newcomer so far to Formula One (Nick Heidfeld).

As far as engine deals go - almost all teams have announced by now which engine will be supplied to them next year, except for Benetton who look more and more likely to stay with SuperTec, for lack of a better option.

The following table lays down the line up for the 2000 season. Names which appear in smaller, grey type-face indicate that no confirmation has been made yet.

Team Engine Driver Driver
McLaren Mercedes M. Hakkinen D. Coulthard
Ferrari Ferrari M. Schumacher R. Barrichello
Williams BMW R. Schumacher A. Zanardi
Jordan Mugen Honda H.H. Frentzen J. Trulli
Benetton SuperTec G. Fisichella A. Wurz
Stewart / Jaguar Ford E. Irvine J. Herbert
Sauber Petronas (99 Ferrari) M. Salo P. Diniz
Prost Peugeot J. Alesi N. Heidfeld
Arrows SuperTec P. de la Rosa  
Minardi SuperTec    
BAR Honda J. Villeneuve R. Zonta

Previous  |  News Index  |  Next   ]

Copyright & Terms